New Seven Wonders of the World

The New7Wonders Foundation, a Swiss-based foundation created in 2001 by Swiss adventurer Bernard Weber, launched a campaign to revise the list of the world’s seven wonders.

The 21 finalists for the New Seven Wonders of the World, listed alphabetically, are:

1. Acropolis of Athens, Athens, Greece
2. Alhambra, Granada, Spain
3. Angkor Wat, Angkor, Cambodia
4. Chichen Itza, Yucatan, Mexico
5. Christ the Redeemer, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
6. Colosseum, Rome, Italy
7. Easter Island statues, Chile
8. Eiffel Tower, Paris, France
9. Great Wall, China
10. Hagia Sophia, Istanbul, Turkey
11. Kyomizu Temple, Kyoto, Japan
12. Kremlin and Red Square, Moscow, Russia
13. Machu Picchu, Peru
14. Neuschwanstein Castle, Fussen, Germany
15. Petra, Jordan
16. Pyramids of Giza, Egypt
17. Statue of Liberty, New York, United States
18. Stonehenge, Amesbury, United Kingdom
19. Sydney Opera House, Sydney, Australia
20. Taj Mahal, Agra, India
21. Timbuktu, Mali

People can vote online or by phone to choose among this list.

The final list of the new seven wonders is planned to be announced on July 7, 2007, in Lisbon taking advantage of the alignment of the date (07.07.07).

Personally, I don’t know why we have to be limited to seven?
I think all of them deserve to hold the title of “One of the wonders of the world”.

[Site: New Seven Wonders of the World]

Leave a comment